Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions
Talking with your hands
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 3:27 pm
Ok. Let’s talk about “talking with your hands” not in as sign language;)
Do you find yourself doing it often? Do you get nervous when others do? Are you very animated but get embarrassed when doing it in a professional setting (that’s me embarrassed )

sequoia

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 3:30 pm
Yes, yes, and yes.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 3:32 pm
sequoia wrote:
Yes, yes, and yes.

Lol! I was by the Dr with my baby & was physically restraining one hand over the other because my brain didn’t want to obey stopping the dance....

icedcoffee

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 3:36 pm
I'm a teacher and sometimes I have to watch myself on video teaching. The whole experience is "ohh noooo what am I doing with my hands!" I don't think I do it in general but when I'm standing in front of 30 pairs of eyes watching me, it seems to come out.

amother
Silver

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 3:39 pm
It's a very Jewish trait.

amother
Bisque

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 3:50 pm
Lol!!! My husband can't talk without his hands even late at night when he's in bed and it's dark in the room!!! LOL

zaq

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 5:58 pm
I used to till someone pointed it out to me. Then I stopped. I will gesture to illustrate sizes, shapes and directions but I no longer make meaningless rhythmic motions in time to my words, which is what most people mean when they say people talk with their hands.

zaq

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 6:00 pm
amother [ Silver ] wrote:

Oh? I’ve been taken for Italian or Greek.

sequoia

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 6:07 pm
Me: her fiance is half-Jewish, half-Italian
Friend: so does he talk with his hands or does he talk with his hands?

amother
Lilac

Post Tue, Nov 05 2019, 6:08 pm
I do. My family members make fun of me.

Ruchel

Post Wed, Nov 06 2019, 2:26 am