Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Paralegal - tell me about this career

amother
OP

Post Tue, Nov 26 2019, 3:23 pm
I’m 41yrs old. I worked as a high level Executive Assistant for many years before having kids at 35 when I stopped working. In about a year, my 2 kids will be in school full time and I plan to go back to work. I feel like I’m out dated in my field, want more flexibility in schedule for kids/holidays AND want to be doing something I’m more fulfilled by. I’m analytical, detail oriented, like structure, ISTJ (Meyers Briggs) personality type. Someone suggested I look in to the Paralegal career.

Can anyone tell me about it/their experience? I know there are many different areas of law to practice and many different settings in which one can work as a paralegal (ie law firm, Corp, gov, private business, etc) - which areas are recommended or discouraged? I live in Los Angeles. I’ve read descriptions on line. TIA!!

amother
Sapphire

Post Tue, Nov 26 2019, 3:28 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote:
I’m 41yrs old. I worked as a high level Executive Assistant for many years before having kids at 35 when I stopped working. In about a year, my 2 kids will be in school full time and I plan to go back to work. I feel like I’m out dated in my field, want more flexibility in schedule for kids/holidays AND want to be doing something I’m more fulfilled by. I’m analytical, detail oriented, like structure, ISTJ (Meyers Briggs) personality type. Someone suggested I look in to the Paralegal career.

Can anyone tell me about it/their experience? I know there are many different areas of law to practice and many different settings in which one can work as a paralegal (ie law firm, Corp, gov, private business, etc) - which areas are recommended or discouraged? I live in Los Angeles. I’ve read descriptions on line. TIA!!