Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
School Dinner Protocol

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 12:24 pm
Backround: oldest dc is in a new school. school has been around less than 5 years. Dc started this year. Obviously we are very eager for school to be a success. School needs money. Things are tight at home but it was important to dh tp pledge an X amount extra per month when asked by Dean. Shortly after we get mail for school dinner. Dh says he just gave $ doesnt want to give ad or pay for a seat. My parents gave $ bec they got the school mailing too. Mom asked how was the dinner? I said I didnt go. My friend asked how was the dinner? I said I didnt go. Both seems horrified. Mom said I should have at least stopped in to show support. I told her I didnt pay for a seat, she said even so I should have. Im so confused. Is that the norm? Im new to this!

amother
Babypink

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 12:33 pm
As far as I'm aware, if you don't pay for a ticket to such an event, then you don't go. That goes for school dinners and every other sort of fundraising dinner. No popping in to say hi.

watergirl

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 12:35 pm
This isn't a wedding where you can pop in. The school isn't interested in my support. They want my money.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 12:38 pm
Thanks for the replies. Asking because of everyone's shocked reactions- is it way out of the norm to not attend/pay for a seat at your childs schools dinner? Cant believe everyone is paying $400 to be there...

amother
Slategray

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 12:39 pm
I wouldn't go unless I asked someone first but sometimes places actually do want "bodies" and not just "money". It shows the donors who will be there that this organization/school is important to peoople. That's probably where the people you spoke to are coming from.

watergirl

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 12:44 pm