Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health -> Allergies
Can allergies develop at 18 months old?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 10:41 pm
I’ve been feeding my son real food since 6 months. Bamba was one of the first. He loves pizza and dairy. But lately he keeps breaking out on his face and maybe getting itchy and it doesn’t make sense to me. He’s been eating these foods for a year and suddenly he gets a breakout from bamba or pizza? Tonight it was Mac n cheese. I think something in the tomato sauce/ketchup might be triggering it but he always ate and loved grape tomatoes without a reaction. What is going on? I have no allergy experience.

I did take him to an allergist but he wouldn’t do skin tests because he was sick (as usual). He sent me to do labs and the technician couldn’t get enough blood after he shrieked bloody murder for half hour so I can’t see myself trying again.

Please advise!!

amother
Indigo

Post Tue, Jan 28 2020, 10:44 pm
Ketchup and sauce are much more likely to cause a reaction than grape tomatoes, because they get all over the skin. I don't know if it would be a true allergy or just a sensitivity, for that you need to do testing. Just sharing my personal experience with tomato products. To answer your question in general, allergies can develop at any age. My mother developed an allergy out of the blue in middle age, something she had eaten her whole life without symptoms. My niece developed an allergy to pears at age 7. She had eaten pears with no problem until then.

amother
Gray

Post Wed, Jan 29 2020, 12:05 am
Did u recently stopped nursing the child? I had it w an 18 month old, he developed eczema on face n body once he was weaned

amother
Mauve

Post Wed, Jan 29 2020, 12:21 am
amother [ Gray ] wrote:
Did u recently stopped nursing the child? I had it w an 18 month old, he developed eczema on face n body once he was weaned