Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Teachers going to school dinner

amother
OP

Post Fri, Feb 14 2020, 3:44 pm
I’m new to this school. So they are making a dinner. As it’s coming closer I’m seeing that it’s a very big deal and that staff is expected to go.

I never attended such an event. Please help me out. I’m from a different crowd as the school and don’t want to stick out too much.

1. What do I wear?
2. Do I give a donation? They collected ads (which was quite expensive) I didn’t purchase. Is there an enterance fee. I don’t mind giving l. Just want to be appropriated.
3.is it the type of thing I need to come on time to? Is it nerdy to come on time or expected. If I come late is it awkward to walk in . Like will they be in the middle of a speaker...
4. Is it literally a dinner. As in a served meal?

Thanks you all. I’m usually not so complexed or complicated. I’m new here and really far out of my comfort zone.

BetsyTacy

Post Fri, Feb 14 2020, 4:02 pm
I think it wil be helpful if you let us know what kind of school you are teaching--fancy "prep" school for Jews vs a bais yaakov.
The location, at least vaguely, will help imamothers in the know chime in.

amother
OP

Post Fri, Feb 14 2020, 4:04 pm
Very “typical” Bais yaakov. In town school. Right winged, yeshivish. Not too diverse crowd.

groisamomma

Post Fri, Feb 14 2020, 4:06 pm
In Lakewood Bais Yaakov type and mainstream yeshiva dinners you would fit in if you come dressed subtly, like in a better weekday outfit or sporty Shabbos one. I wear black sweaters with a design on the skirt so as not to draw attention. Teachers dont usually come on time. In some schools, there is a separate table for teachers, and it will say Reserved for Staff or similar. There is no entrance fee and staff is not expected to purchase ads.

Hope that helps.