Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Joining new company in a management role

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 19 2020, 10:13 am
I recently joined a new company; I have many years experience and am entering in a managerial position. This is a large company which does not have much of a department yet for my niche, they would like for me to eventually hire staff and build the department. The issue is that there is one woman who has been doing this job to some extent, but she does not have much experience and has a lot to learn. Before signing I knew that she felt threatened and didn’t want me. I made it clear to the boss that I would not join unless she is fully on board, and he assured me that he spoke to her and everything’s good. Unfortunately I don’t think that’s the case, she has been very passive aggressive from day one. For example, she wouldn’t give me access to company information that I needed without a struggle.
How would you handle this situation? I see my options as being overly sweet and trying to win her over, or going straight to the boss and saying this is not what I signed up for, you have to get her in line. Thoughts?

amother
Aquamarine

Post Wed, Feb 19 2020, 10:36 am
amother [ OP ] wrote: