Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions
Who would you put first? Work or your family member

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 26 2020, 6:43 pm
I work in a school and the administration is making a decision that will be rough on some students because their are other students whose needs are a bigger priority (basically taking away a successful teacher for another class whose teacher quit and absorbing the current students of this teacher into the other larger classes . These students were in a small class for a reason and putting them in a class of 30 with minimal support means they will fall thro the cracks).
The challenge is that one of these student who will lose his teacher is my brother. Would you tell your parents now and give them a chance to object and stand up for their son (knowing the school if all the parents would fight it they would have to bring in someone from outside but for various reasons the class without a teacher is deemed more of a priority right now so they don't want to take chances on a new person) but the school expectexpects me to keep it a secret ?
I feel like blood is thicker than water. I think the school is making a wrong choice and to not give any notice until it's a done deal will make a lot of people upset.
If my parents find out that I knew and didn't say anything they will be made .
I specifically had planned not to allow any family members into my class but I am not being given a choice .it would also be to my benefit if this doesn't happen because I don't want more students at this point in the year - especially kids who are struggling even in a class of 10.

bobeli

Post Wed, Feb 26 2020, 6:51 pm
Ask a rov

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 26 2020, 8:01 pm