Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions -> Inspirational
Tzena U’Rena
1  2  3  Next

tigerwife

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 10:00 pm
So- do you learn Tzena Urena?
Is there a specific print you recommend?

I smiled when I saw someone on another thread mention that she learns it daily. I think it’s beautiful to learn what so many of our grandmothers did and realized I have very little knowledge of what the sefer covers. Is it originally in Yiddish or Hebrew?

amother
Crimson

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 10:00 pm
Was always in Yiddish

amother
Pink

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 10:03 pm
It used to be in old yiddish which I devoured growing up, and is now available in chassidish yiddish which I devoured too.

tigerwife

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 10:04 pm
I understand yiddish but would be interested in a copy that includes an English translation in case my vocabulary ain’t up to par. Can anyone recommend one?

dankbar

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 10:07 pm
It tells you the parsha in Yiddish in story form.

tigerwife

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 10:09 pm
dankbar wrote:
It tells you the parsha in Yiddish in story form.

Is it just story? Medrashim?
I’m finding it strange I know so little about a sefer that used to be integral to Jewish women.

amother
Crimson

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 10:11 pm
I think a big part if it is midrashim but like they say the proof if the pudding... maybe give eichlers a call? If you live local they deliver

amother
Ruby

Post Mon, May 04 2020, 11:01 pm
It is mostly midrashim, very easy read. Nothing heavy you need to dissect. I have the old Yiddish version and I used to finish it in an hour or so on Friday night (before the kids came around).
I haven't looked at it in a long while. I'd be happy to lend if you're in Monsey and want to try it. Let me know and I'll pm you.
I doubt its available with English translation. I didn't know its still a hot item.

Amelia Bedelia