Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Coronavirus Health Questions
Big pharms and conspiracy theories
1  2  3  4  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, May 13 2020, 9:06 am
Disclosure: I'm an amateur. I don't know anything about this stuff and never paid attention....

My father had been putting videos on our family chat from doctors and regular people making the claim that the pharmaceutical companies don't want word spreading of any simple non vaccine treatment for covid19. For example, I've seen several doctors claiming they have effectively treated covid patients with hydroxychloroquine. Not surprisingly the fda says the opposite, that this treatment is ineffective and can cause harm. Again, doctors who are actually using it are saying it works.

Anybody have any thoughts on this?

amother
Lemon

Post Wed, May 13 2020, 9:32 am
The FDA's position on hydroxychloroquine for Covid is - enroll in a study, emergency use only. As a drug regulator this (to me) seems rather reasonable.

amother
Ecru

Post Wed, May 13 2020, 9:39 am
As someone whose spouse for big pharma,I find these theories disgusting.

My Dh, who spends hours caring about the smallest detail in a clinical study, because these are real people who are being treated, and real people's lives, is not murdering people by denying them access to meds.

Honestly, awful awful lashon hara. And you should tell your father the same thing.

southernbubby

Post Wed, May 13 2020, 9:43 am
I just watched a video by Dr Zelenko and he says that there is a huge difference between giving the drug in the first 4 or 5 days of the infection and giving it when the person is critically ill.
No one knows, of course, how many people would have gotten over the virus even without medication so we don't really know how many lives are actually saved.