Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Computers degree vs. Accounting degree - for dd

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jun 01 2020, 1:25 pm
Please weigh in, which would you suggest more for a bright frum girl? Pro's/Con's? Please share your opinions.

Chayalle

Post Mon, Jun 01 2020, 1:30 pm
What does your DD enjoy?

I have a degree in Computer Sciences. I was good at math and liked computer programming (back in the day, my high school actually had an introductory QBASIC course - ancient stuff, but I found it interesting), but I absolutely found accounting to be boring.

My niece, OTOH, likes numbers and detail, and went for her CPA.

Amarante

Post Mon, Jun 01 2020, 1:36 pm
Why does she have to decide now? In most colleges, you don't declare a major immediately which gives one the chance to take courses to see what one likes. It also enables one to meet people in different fields and explore options.

amother
Yellow

Post Mon, Jun 01 2020, 1:40 pm
Computer science is a very broad field and probably a field that is going to keep expanding. Jobs are well paying and she can find stay at home jobs more easily than accounting, and that's good for when she has kids for example.

amother
cornflower

Post Mon, Jun 01 2020, 1:57 pm
most teens entering a computer science degree program already have some (if not significant) programming experience.... and they enjoy it. Where does DD stand?

Ora in town

Post Mon, Jun 01 2020, 2:54 pm
Computer science is quite demanding in math and logics.

In the past 20 years many jobs in computer science were outsourced to low-wage countries, and this is a growing trend. Either you have to travel a lot for the job, because you have to serve clients on site, and if they can do it remote, they will outsource it to India, China, Vietnam...