Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Buying a house with little to no down payment?

amother
OP

Post Sat, Jul 11 2020, 9:49 pm
We’re thinking about buying our first chime but we don’t have enough savings for a large down payment. I googled and saw (if we’re eligible) different types of loans, done with very little down payment. Any of you ever take a mortgage with very little down payment? Tell me anything I need to know because I’m still very new to this and need to do my research. We know we will have other expenses such as property taxes, insurance, utilities and house maintenance... I don’t want us to become house poor. But we also don’t want to keep on wasting money on rent and really want to settle somewhere and create our own home. Looking at cheaper house prices that range $250,000-$350,000 (most likely we can afford the lower range) we just can’t have a crazy monthly expenses. Please let me know if you’ve done this and how much you end up paying monthly. Thanks!!

watergirl

Post Sat, Jul 11 2020, 9:57 pm
I did. We got a special fannie mae loan product that is extremely uncommon and only offered in very few parts of the country (States). It is so unheard of, when I first posted about it, people told me I must be wrong because such a thing does not exist. No PMI either. We only had to put 3% down, which the seller paid. And my house cost just under 200k.

Last edited by watergirl on Sat, Jul 11 2020, 10:12 pm; edited 1 time in total

amother
Red

Post Sat, Jul 11 2020, 9:58 pm
I am in the mortgage business. You can get a loan with as little as 3% down payment. We do them all the time.

amother
Firebrick

Post Sat, Jul 11 2020, 10:06 pm
We did 10% down, standard mortgage we just had to pay PMI for a few years which was around $100 a month.