Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Is it not 'right' for me to take off so long?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jul 13 2020, 11:26 am
I'm due IyH in a month with my 4th. I've always took an 8 week maternity leave and am totally not ready to come back before that.

I am an office manager so me being out leaves the office in a bit of 'trouble' as well as the boss needing to fill my place while I'm out. I gave long enough notice to my boss (5 months) and kept asking him what his plan was but he was totally in denial and just said 'we'll worry about it closer' . so, closer is here and there is no plan and everyone is freaking out that I'll be out. At this point I plan on taking 10 weeks just because now is my chance to recuperate properly etc.

my boss is very upset that I'll be out so long and told me really 6 weeks is the standard maternity (everyone I know takes 8 week!)

DH is feeling bad for my boss and says I should just go back after 8 weeks. since I was hired for this position and its really my responsibility etc.

is there something right or wrong about taking off longer for my health and sanity?

SuperWify

Post Mon, Jul 13 2020, 11:28 am
Legally in NJ you have 12 weeks. They can’t make you come back beforehand.

studying_torah

Post Mon, Jul 13 2020, 11:31 am
What is this nonsense of ppl who are not you- the person pregnant & giving birth, trying to guilt you into going back early?! Rest, recover and go back to work when you can.

MommyM

Post Mon, Jul 13 2020, 11:38 am
SuperWify wrote:

In NY too.

If you feel you need 10 weeks off, take it, and don't feel guilty.

zaq

Post Mon, Jul 13 2020, 11:41 am
You did your part by informing your employer well in advance nd reminding him periodically That he dragged his feet is his problem, not yours.

ShishKabob

Post Mon, Jul 13 2020, 11:44 am
I would say that your health and sound mind come first, hands down.