Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Do I tell?

amother
OP

Post Thu, Sep 10 2020, 12:08 pm
I work in a school and one of the assistants is breaking one of the rules. The rule is the main teacher speaks to parents about issues with kids. Not assistants. She is also a bit mean to the kids. Do I say something or keep my mouth closed?

Last edited by amother on Thu, Sep 10 2020, 4:33 pm; edited 1 time in total

newbie613

Post Thu, Sep 10 2020, 12:11 pm
Say something for sure. Especially if she isn’t that great with the kids.

watergirl

Post Thu, Sep 10 2020, 12:19 pm
I was a teachers assistant for many years. One year, I had a major concern about a two year old in my class. He would crash (like fall asleep on the floor) shortly after eating, he was always thirsty, and his very frequent wet diapers had a strange odor. We had the same rule - only the lead teacher could speak to the parents. I told the lead my concerns (I suspected diabetes) and she said she thought the kid was fine. I told the director who thought the kid was fine. I decided to speak to the parents who BH a million times listened to me. They also noticed the same things. They called their pediatrician that day, the dr. also listened. He took some tests. This child missed 2 weeks of school... spent in the hospital. Guess what - he has diabetes. And his sugars that day when I decided to open my mouth were SCARY. I may have saved his life. Aaaaaaand I was reprimanded by the director and lead teacher.

Let it go, OP. Assistants are worth a lot and never get credit.

amother
Royalblue

Post Thu, Sep 10 2020, 12:27 pm
Beingreal wrote:
I work in a school and one of the assistants is breaking one of the rules. The rule is the main teacher speaks to parents about issues with kids. Not assistants. She is also a bit mean to the kids. Do I say something or keep my mouth closed?