Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Coronavirus Health Questions
In quarantine and out of ideas: a vent
1  2  Next

DVOM

Post Mon, Oct 12 2020, 4:42 am
A vent:

Our holiday guest brought Covid with them. Thankfully he's feeling well, but we're now all in quarantine for the next bit.

This is not what I'd planned. I don't want my boys home for the next two weeks (and realistically, how long will Lakewood schools stay open? Chances are we're done with school for a while now). I will not do remote learning (see previous rant post). I can't dredge up the energy this morning to care what my kids learn. I'm not a teacher. I have a job. And I'm a mom. And I'm a housekeeper and a cook. I don't also want to be an educational coordinator.

I don't want my guests, who were supposed to be here for one night, to stay here for the next two weeks, quarantining with us. I want to be able to walk around in my pajamas, I want to sing on the top of my lungs, I want to feed my boys pizza for breakfast, lunch and dinner, I don't want to take other peoples food needs into account, I don't want to feed more people for weeks on our shoestring budget, I don't want to be 'on,' in hostess mode, for the next two weeks or more.

I just want someone else to take over. I don't want to be the mommy. I want someone else to plan the day, shop, plan the meals, cook them, clean up after them, entertain and police the kids. I want someone else to do laundry and put it away. I want someone else to make polite small talk. I want someone else to be rational, sane, calm, measured, adult. I want to stay in bed today, all day. I want to be grouchy and irrational, self-centered and lazy, and have some loving person say it's ok.

I'm trying to focus on gratitude. There's a whole lot to be grateful for.