Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Convince me to take the CPA
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Oct 25 2020, 9:42 pm
Title says it all. I graduated with an accounting degree a few years ago, and life circumstances prevented my taking the CPA upon graduation. I have a good accounting job with upward mobility, but obviously being a CPA would increase my value and earning potential. My reservations are that I have some small children and a hectic life and I was never into hardcore studying, which is obviously a HUGE aspect of taking the CPA! The cost of these CPA review programs is also not insignificant, but if it is a worthwhile investment, it's the least of my worries. I just don't want to look back in 5 or 10 years from now and regret not taking it... Thoughts? Personal experiences?

bisbettertheni

Post Sun, Oct 25 2020, 10:15 pm
I think life just gets busier (unless you wait till all your kids are grown up) take it now.

amother
Smokey

Post Sun, Oct 25 2020, 10:24 pm
Do you work in public accounting? Will it make a difference to your employer?

amother
Goldenrod

Post Sun, Oct 25 2020, 10:36 pm
OP, are you me???? I could have literally written your post, except that my kids are a little older.... life is still very hectic. I'm halfway through studying for FAR and I'm like - why in the world am I doing this? 200 hours studying for FAR, 150 hours for REG, 100 hours for AUD and BEC.... and that's if I pass the first time.

Convince me - why do I want to do this????

amother
OP

Post Sun, Oct 25 2020, 10:37 pm
bisbettertheni wrote:
I think life just gets busier (unless you wait till all your kids are grown up) take it now.

Which is exactly why I feel like if not now, it will never happen. But is studying practically a full-time job? Does studying a couple of hours a night cut it?

amother
Goldenrod

Post Sun, Oct 25 2020, 10:37 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote: