Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Other special days
Needlepointing a Tefillin bag for my son's Bar Mitzva

DVOM

Post Sun, Nov 15 2020, 7:07 am
Good morning lovely ladies!

I'm considering needlepointing a Tefillin bag for my son's Bar Mitzva.

Any of you guys done this? How big of a job is it? I'm a very beginner needlepointer, and I'm nervous about starting and not finishing.

Anyone know if there is a store/website where I can order the needlepoint and get some directions?

mfb

Post Sun, Nov 15 2020, 7:29 am
I haven’t done it but I know my son would not have been happy with it. He wants what all the kids in his class have not something so different. So please before anything make sure it would make your son happy.

Elfrida

Post Sun, Nov 15 2020, 7:29 am
I don't know about shops, but I just googled 'needlepoint tefillin bags' and came up with a good choice of kits and designs. Most of them have space for names. Even as a beginner you can alter colours to suit yourself, though you might not feel confident playing with different stitches and patterns yet.

As for whether you'll finish in time, be realistic with yourself. Is the Bar Mitzvah next month? Forget about it. A few months ahead sounds realistic. Aim to have it finished at least a month before the Bar Mitzvah (or before the hanachat tefillin). That gives you time to send it away to have it made up into a bag if necessary. You don't want want the added pressure of having to sit down with a slow moving needle and thread when you are under pressure to do a dozen things at once the week before the Bar Mitzvah. Needlepoint is meant to be enjoyable. If you're pressured you'll come to resent it.

Its certainly a doable project, and a tefillin bag is much smaller than a tallis bag! One that you have personally created will be special to him for years.

DVOM

Post Sun, Nov 15 2020, 7:38 am
Elfrida wrote: