Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Got demoted, don't know how to handle
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Mon, Nov 30 2020, 12:33 pm
So all of a sudden I have a "boss" over me when I didn't have a boss before. It's very upsetting. I'm still doing the same work I've done before, only now I hand it over to this new boss, and she tells the CEO my findings. She has a higher degree than I do, and she deliberately leaves me out of their conversations and findings and updates. I have to find out through third parties. In other words, I'll compile the information I've researched, I offer my recommendations, she presents it and makes decisions with the CEO, disseminates the decisions to the rest of the company, and I don't even find out until much LATER what the information IS.

Since I'm the one people ask (I'm a consultant), to NOT know new protocol because of private conversations she had without me, means that I am no longer trusted to consult.

I don't know how to complain, because the CEO obviously felt there needed to be a middle man between me and him. And he's not approachable. My previous boss is gone.

I just feel completely awful. I take great pride in my work, and yes, I like to feel important, and I suddenly find I'm just a grunt work employee, when I used to be executive.

My husband tells me to be lucky I'm still getting paid the same, and that I should just do whatever I'm asked and be grateful I still have a job in this crazy world. But I can't help but feel stress and feel upset every day, when I used to enjoy my job.

amother
Fuchsia

Post Mon, Nov 30 2020, 12:37 pm
Op, I get you.
I had a similar experience and it stressed me out like crazy.
I ended up leaving the job after a while because I just couldn’t handle it.

I know, not such great encouragement, but you’re not alone.
I hope you can get past it.

Rubber Ducky

Post Mon, Nov 30 2020, 12:41 pm