Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Writing Careers

amother
OP

Post Tue, Dec 15 2020, 1:24 pm
Anyone here have a career in writing? I'm talking copywriter, copy editor, freelance writer, etc.? Did you need to get a degree? How did you build your portfolio?

amother
Green

Post Tue, Dec 15 2020, 1:36 pm
I'm a magazine editor, and have done long stints of freelance writing (and always have it as a side hustle). It used to be very lucrative, but it no longer is unless you work for very high end clients. One also needs keen copy-editing skills these days, as there are no more copy editors. It's a very different ballgame than it was 20 years ago, but if you're a go-getter and a fast writer you'll have a better chance. Do NOT, under any circumstances, write for ANYONE for free just to get your name out there. I promise you that it won't give you the kind of publicity you're seeking and it's abusive to ask people to do this.

I have a double BA from a well known university, and began my career on staff at a magazine as an assistant editor.

amother
Fuchsia

Post Thu, Dec 17 2020, 3:12 pm
I write books, magazine articles, ghostwrite for private clients and provide editing services. I have a degree in an unrelated field.

amother
Aquamarine

Post Thu, Dec 17 2020, 3:13 pm
amother [ Green ] wrote: