Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
Baby born with extra digit
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 12:59 am
My friend was telling me that she know someone born what’s called an extra digit which is a 6th finger. How common is it? Do you know ppl with such a thing?
Stressing out that my baby doesn’t have that

amother
Denim

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 1:02 am
Are you being sarcastic? I’m not a professional but I assume w surgery it can be taken off.

amother
Bisque

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 1:13 am
I hope you are being sarcastic, but it not very funny.
I know someone who was born with a 6th finger on one hand. It was removed when she was about a year and you can't see anything now.

Iymnok

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 1:14 am
Usually those are removed very early. It’s a pretty basic surgery.

amother
Violet

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 1:38 am
I know a baby born with an extra finger. It's very simple to remove and when the kid grows up no one remembers it anymore.

challahchallah

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 1:46 am
amother [ OP ] wrote:
My friend was telling me that she know someone born what’s called an extra digit which is a 6th finger. How common is it? Do you know ppl with such a thing?

Yes, this is a real condition called polydactyly. As others have said, it’s a relatively simple surgery that is usually done when the child is young. It occurs in about one out of every 500-1000 births.

amother
Ecru

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 1:47 am
I also know someone who was born with six fingers was removed when he was a few month old

amother
Chocolate

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 3:00 am
I know someone who was born with 6 toes on one of her feet. Funny thing is it wasn’t noticed til a a few days after she came home from the hospital. It was removed pretty early and the rest of her foot looks normal as if it was never there

amother
Cobalt

Post Thu, Jan 07 2021, 4:13 am