Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
A wounded mothers vent
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Mar 07 2021, 6:26 pm
This is just a vent. But I need to get it out there, even into cyber space. Basically, I never fit in. Anywhere. I grew up in a traditional home, going to a modern school, in an ultro-orthodox community. In school I actually became more religious, and although I had been good at making friends there, there's something to be said about friends you are more alike with. Ironically, in the neighborhood I was basically the [gentile], and in school I was a frummie. I got into a more hashkafically similar sem, but I was looked down upon and judged for my background, by peers and sadly staff. Ironically I am more relig then some girls who I graduated with because they ended up going on a different path. Then I went to a private college earned my masters, and was dating in the shidduch system. But I realized how quickly that would fall apart because in that system, your parents and background matter more. So I was set up with, best case scenario, much less religious boys, especially when it matched the cultural background. But basically it was off base. Bh I met my husband through a mutual friend. But he is in a similar boat. Far more religious than his background and mostly a baal teshuva. He is very commited to torah and bh dedicated to being koveah itim and asking shailos. But he wasnt allowed to go to post hs yeshiva. Went to very modern schools as well, and found his way to more yeshivish hashkafa through many many online shiurim and programs. We have the shul rav and rabbeim to ask shailos as they come up. But no 1 rav. We live were we do for work. We have no yichus. Were off the radar. Bh we have two kids, and now one is ready for school. We cant even fill out parts of the application. The child's great grandparents?! Forget it- no affiliation to yiddi