Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> School age children
Speech therapy for executive function

amother
OP

Post Tue, Mar 09 2021, 7:54 am
My dd5's OT is recommending an evaluation for speech therapy to help with her executive function.

Can someone please explain the connection?

Thank you

miami85

Post Tue, Mar 09 2021, 9:59 am
Not quite sure what she's talking about but there's a possibility that she's noticing a "motor planning" issue as- speech and fine motor issues can be intertwined, and executive function is a grander form of motor planing.

amother
Amethyst

Post Tue, Mar 09 2021, 10:46 am
Hi I’m a speech therapist.
Executive functioning is a huge part of speech.

honey36

Post Tue, Mar 09 2021, 10:49 am
AFAIK executive function is just a higher level of language skills. So if an slp can help a child with language they can help a child with executive functions.

Im pretty sure executive function skills include memory skills, organization skills...forget what else but basically applying language skills for use in these areas.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Mar 09 2021, 10:49 am
amother [ Amethyst ] wrote:
Hi I’m a speech therapist.
Executive functioning is a huge part of speech.

Even if her verbal skills are advanced?

(Thank you)

amother
Amethyst

Post Tue, Mar 09 2021, 10:51 am
amother [ OP ] wrote:
Even if her verbal skills are advanced?

(Thank you)

Yes. We don’t only work with verbal skills and articulation. Most of my work is cognition and language application. Executive functioning falls under both.

amother
Bisque

Post Tue, Mar 09 2021, 10:52 am
My first grader gets speech and she has executive functioning/motor planning issues.

The speech is for articulation not for language.

Her brain knows exactly what she needs to say but she ends up cutting off beginning and ending of words because she is thinking faster than she can speak.

amother
Amethyst