Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
How do morahs get jobs? in NY
  1  2  3  4  5  6  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, May 09 2021, 2:55 pm
I know this sounds like a very basic question, but I'm new to being frum and just recently moved from abroad to Manhattan, NYC. I have a Master's in chinuch, am frum, and want to get a position teaching Limudei Chol at a middle-school or high-school in or near Manhattan.

How does one do this? Many schools do not have websites, and I heard that many advertise by "word of mouth." But I'm an outsider to the frum NY "club." Does anyone have any ideas or tips? Thanks!

amother
Salmon

Post Sun, May 09 2021, 2:56 pm
Jed jobs
https://jedjobs-csm.symplicity.....tab=0

amother
OP

Post Sun, May 09 2021, 2:58 pm
amother [ Salmon ] wrote:
Jed jobs
https://jedjobs-csm.symplicity.....tab=0

I saw that website. It's basically just left-wing MO schools. It does not contain many frum schools.

amother
Olive

Post Sun, May 09 2021, 3:19 pm
Lots of ads in publications like the Hamodia. If you especially want a job in a very RW school.

amother
Copper

Post Sun, May 09 2021, 3:32 pm
Would you consider a 20 min train from Manhattan? To Long Island? If so, look up kol yaakov and bnot yaakov of Great Neck.

Keep in mind teaching limudei chol in yeshivas doesn't pay so well and there's no benefits.

amother
Amethyst

Post Sun, May 09 2021, 3:39 pm
amother [ Copper ] wrote:
Would you consider a 20 min train from Manhattan? To Long Island? If so, look up kol yaakov and bnot yaakov of Great Neck.

Keep in mind teaching limudei chol in yeshivas doesn't pay so well and there's no benefits.

True, if you are looking for benefits and a decent salary you are better off looking for a job in an MO school (which is still frum, btw).

newmother

Post Sun, May 09 2021, 3:40 pm
Sorry, I read the post wrong