Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Our Challenging Children (gifted, ADHD, sensitive, defiant)
DS not being included
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jul 06 2021, 8:08 am
Hi this is my first time posting on this forum so please be kind Smile
DS is 5 years old and technically has an ASD diagnosis but that was pretty much given so he can receive additional services he needs in yeshiva. His issues are mostly sensory and a little bit missing social cues.

Up until now in school he has been fine. He loves playing with friends and never had a problem being included. We switched to a new bungalow this summer and ever since we are here he is having a very difficult time. The boys run away from him and if they come to our bungalow its only to break his things and tease him. And with all that, he so badly wants to be included that he will keep asking them to come back.

DH and I are not sure what the right way to deal with this is. DS is miserable he is crying before camp that he doesn't want to go and crying when he comes home that he tries to play with boys and they just ignore him. I think it would be best if we just went back home. The counselors here are shnooky teenagers they are not equipped to deal with issues like this. DH thinks that's teaching him to run away and he will need to learn to live like this eventually. I know he is right in a way but as a mother I just want to push that down the road as far as possible.

I would be so grateful for any advice or words of hope as this is really weighing on me the last couple of weeks.

amother
Candycane

Post Tue, Jul 06 2021, 8:14 am
I’m sorry he’s having a hard time.

First of all try not to fight the autism diagnosis. If you have it, try to embrace it. It’s not given for no reason.