Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
My Cleaning Helper wants to become jewish
1  2  Next

miriam845

Post Tue, Aug 03 2021, 10:00 am
So my very nice cleaning helper who has worked for me for 2 years has become very close to me, she is poor and a single mother, but she is smart and very honest deep and serious, about 6 months ago our relationship started to become more like friends then worker & boss(or whatever you want to call it),
This whole interest in Judaism interest of her started very innocent, she started asking questions like what the candles are, why different sinks, about shaitels and tzniues, at first I was nice and answered as much as I could, then a few weeks ago she started asking me how she can become Jewish, she started dressing tzniuesdig, she bought a hebrew to spanish siddur translation, it looks like its something she thinks about all day,

I am no expert and have no idea about this, what am I supposed to do, she is really a nice person with great midus and a very warm heart so I don't want to disappoint her by pushing her away or anything like this.

Success10

Post Tue, Aug 03 2021, 10:10 am
I don't know how good her English is, but it's important for you to first relay to her that she can attain spirituality and a place in the World to Come without being a Jew. She should also see the nitty gritty difficulties of day to day Jewish life (I'm sure she does see a lot in your home, but maybe emphasize it more, how much things costs, how intricate the laws are). I would for SURE seek out rabbinic advice on how to gently and nicely push her away. And, at the same time, how to look for signs that she may actually be genuine and need a mentor to guide her along her journey.

amother
Seagreen

Post Tue, Aug 03 2021, 10:17 am