Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Career troubles

amother
OP

Post Wed, Aug 04 2021, 11:52 am
I'm really struggling with my career.
I work as a preschool teacher, but I'm getting a M.Ed in special ed because I prefer that kind of work, specializing with a smaller group of kids, to classroom teaching. I don't want to toot my own horn, but I'm pretty good at understanding/ building relationships with kids with special learning needs, and a lot more patient than most morot.

I need to be making way more money than I am and to have better hours to actually be able to raise my own children. Most people tell me to switch to teaching public school for the better pay and shorter days, but teaching kodesh is actually the only part of my job that makes me feel like I am doing something worthwhile.

My family really needs my income (actually, they need more than my income...)but I am feeling so blah about everything work wise these days. I don;t really feel like I have very many options, since I didn't do that well in college and am struggling to write a coherent thesis for my masters program.
It feels like I am not actually cut out for anything work- wise. I feel like I would thrive as a stay at home mom, but that's just not an option for me.
My husband also kind of looks down on my work. He was raised in a wealthy community and we still live in the type of community where number of degrees/educational institution/ job title confers status. Obviously, I can't compete. I don't know what to do. I feel worse than useless.

amother
NeonYellow

Post Wed, Aug 04 2021, 12:17 pm
Maybe working in special Ed and making a difference in the life of needy students will give you that same feeling.