Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Hobbies, Crafts, and Collections -> The Imamother Writing Club
The problem with frum novels
1  2  3  4  5  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jan 05 2022, 10:49 pm
I'm an aspiring author and I'm writing a frum book. I noticed that there's very few online reviews of frum books, but I've heard people complain about them before. As in, secular novels are more well written. So... What's the problem with frum novels? No need to call out a specific novel, I don't want to bash, just wanted to see how to make my book the best it can be.

I'll start. My problem with frum novels is that sometimes there's too much repetition when the novel used to be a magazine serial.

amother
Khaki

Post Wed, Jan 05 2022, 10:52 pm
It’s rare to find a frum novel that actually pulls me in.
Some great non Frum books really draw you in with the way they are written, the subject matter… some examples:
Where the crawdads sing
All the light we cannot see
Beneath a scarlet sky
The help

There’s depth to the plot and characters.

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jan 05 2022, 10:54 pm
amother [ Khaki ] wrote:
It’s rare to find a frum novel that actually pulls me in.
Some great non Frum books really draw you in with the way they are written, the subject matter… some examples:
Where the crawdads sing
All the light we cannot see
Beneath a scarlet sky
The help

There’s depth to the plot and characters.

Is it the plot, the prose or both?

amother
Khaki

Post Wed, Jan 05 2022, 10:56 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote:
Is it the plot, the prose or both?

Both.

Once in a while I enjoy a book that is well written but doesn’t have much depth. I don’t finish the book feeling blown away, as though I’ve been transported to another time and place- rather I finish and think, how cute.

The ones that have no depth and are not written well are impossible for me to finish.
The ones with depth that are not written well are quite boring.