Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health -> Toilet Training
Upwards pee stream

amother
OP

Post Sat, May 14 2022, 11:20 pm
My son is just being toilet trained, and his pee stream always shoots upwards and out of the toilet. He gets freaked out and doesn't want to go. What does this mean? Is the anything I can do about it?
He's my first son after afew girls, I'm new to toilet training boys. TIA.

amother
Cornsilk

Post Sat, May 14 2022, 11:22 pm
My son holds himself downward. How else?

amother
Hydrangea

Post Sat, May 14 2022, 11:22 pm
It's possible he has something called meatal stenosis. It's when the urethral opening is too small. It's fairly common and corrected easily with surgery. Its frequently noticed when the child is being toilet trained and their urine stream is abnormal.
Your pediatrician can confirm whether this is the issue or not. Bring your son in to get checked.

amother
OP

Post Sat, May 14 2022, 11:23 pm
amother [ Cornsilk ] wrote:
My son holds himself downward. How else?

I don't think the urine is supposed to spray upwards. I would think it's supposed to spray straight out.

amother
OP

Post Sat, May 14 2022, 11:25 pm
amother [ Hydrangea ] wrote:
It's possible he has something called meatal stenosis. It's when the urethral opening is too small. It's fairly common and corrected easily with surgery. Its frequently noticed when the child is being toilet trained and their urine stream is abnormal.
Your pediatrician can confirm whether this is the issue or not. Bring your son in to get checked.

Thank you, I will get him checked out. What type of doctor? Pediatrician or urologist? Do you know if the recovery is painful? Will he need to be trained over again? (If he does have this issue?)

amother
Hydrangea

Post Sat, May 14 2022, 11:32 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote: