Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Resume dos and don'ts

amother
OP

Post Mon, May 23 2022, 3:42 pm
I'm back in the job market after a long tenure at my previous/current job. As I'm updating my dusty resume, was wondering if anyone can provide pointers on resume dos and don'ts.

For example, - do you list references straight out or say that they are available by request?

Another question - I have more than 15 years experience in my current field. Do I still include my fieldwork placements from my college days or at this point is that not considered relevant information?

Also, I took off a couple years to be mother, about 10 years ago. Do I mention anything about that on my resume, or just list the jobs I've had with a two year gap in the ending date of one job to the starting date of the next job?

Any other advice?

zaq

Post Mon, May 23 2022, 3:44 pm
Skip the college fieldwork, no longer relevant.

amother
Electricblue

Post Mon, May 23 2022, 5:07 pm
Don’t write references available upon request. Either put them on or don’t put them on. Either way is fine.

mha3484

Post Mon, May 23 2022, 5:11 pm
I write resumes for a living. Don't put references on your resume. By request is just a formality. You can put it on or leave it off.

I only put college field work on a resume if its someone's first or second job. I would not include it once you have as much experience as you do.

If you took time off 10 years ago, I think its fine to just not say anything. 10 years of a solid work history is really good.

amother
Stoneblue

Post Mon, May 23 2022, 5:11 pm
I wouldn't address the two year gap unless asked.

amother
OP

Post Mon, May 23 2022, 7:29 pm
Thanks for the advice so far!

Can someone explain the no references thing? If I have a solid good reference, don't I want to give them option to call/email her?

Also, do I include a cover letter or is that not necessary?

amother