Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Teachers: how much do you get paid?
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, May 24 2022, 9:16 pm
I'm a tutor OOT
25k a yr
I work 9-3 with Abt a 1 hr break all together.
Maybe $1000 in gift cards/perks (I don't pay tuition yet)
(Fyi, I get WIC and Medicaid, that's it)

amother
Tomato

Post Tue, May 24 2022, 9:19 pm
Lakewood elementary school.
Teaching about 15 years.
Get free tuition thank You, Hashem.
Limudei Kodesh hours.
Next year will be paid about 38k.

I only get medicaid for my children and wic so not living the glamourous program life. I work super hard at a second job and live super simply. My husband is in kollel. If not for the raise, I would have had no choice but to leave teaching.

amother
Phlox

Post Tue, May 24 2022, 9:25 pm
amother [ Tomato ] wrote:
Lakewood elementary school.
Teaching about 15 years.
Get free tuition thank You, Hashem.
Limudei Kodesh hours.
Next year will be paid about 38k.

I only get medicaid for my children and wic so not living the glamourous program life. I work super hard at a second job and live super simply. My husband is in kollel. If not for the raise, I would have had no choice but to leave teaching.

Wow. I'm a school-based speech therapist and I would not make 38k if I only worked during limudei kodesh hours (that's why I work a whole school day +evenings/sundays)

And with free tution, your salary is worth more like 50k.

And yes I also have a ton if prep work at home, and writing progress reports and contacting parents etc

I'm not jealous, but this just proves that teachers are nowhere near as underpaid as they claim.

amother
Slategray

Post Tue, May 24 2022, 9:32 pm
I work 8-1 and make just over $20,000. Been teaching 16 years.

amother
Mustard

Post Tue, May 24 2022, 9:33 pm
Lol 38k plus free tuition…for working 3.5 hours a day, 10 months a year. Wow thats rough!