Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> New York related Inquiries
Renting out our pool- legal aspect

amother
OP

Post Fri, Jul 01 2022, 8:13 am
Hi,

How do I go about renting my pool without getting into trouble/ having people sue me in case something happens while their on my property?

Would getting paid on cash make a difference?

I’m new to all this , so I’d love to hear from different imas that rent out their pool.

Thanks!

amother
Jasmine

Post Fri, Jul 01 2022, 8:18 am
They can sue you and your insurance won't cover it if you rented it out.
You can use an app like Swimply and while their fees may be hefty they cover insurance.

amother
OP

Post Fri, Jul 01 2022, 8:27 am
amother [ Jasmine ] wrote:
They can sue you and your insurance won't cover it if you rented it out.
You can use an app like Swimply and while their fees may be hefty they cover insurance.

Thanks for responding! Ok that’s good to know.
Also wondering, if I have a group over (let’s say family friends- not random strangers) and didn’t charge, does same apply regarding the suing?

Can anyone sue me basically? Would having them sign a waiver protect me on any way?

SYA

Post Fri, Jul 01 2022, 8:32 am
I don’t have a pool but my understanding is that even with a waiver they can still sue. Even if they come as a guest for free

amother
Honeydew

Post Fri, Jul 01 2022, 8:33 am
I believe your homeowners insurance should cover you in case of guests suing. If you're renting it out you would need a separate insurance.

amother
Stonewash

Post Fri, Jul 01 2022, 8:33 am
Following. I have this question also.

Amarante

Post Fri, Jul 01 2022, 8:41 am
Anyone can sue you even if you don't charge.