Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Are Non Competes Enforceable?

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jul 25 2022, 10:56 pm
I’ve been working for a smallish business for a few years, and I’m very unhappy in my current position. I would like to switch to a different company, or possibly start my own business, but I just remembered that I signed a non compete agreement when I first started my job. I think it was effective for a period of three years after leaving the company. Does my current employer have a right to enforce legal action against me or are non competes not really enforceable? I’m in NJ.

amother
Wallflower

Post Mon, Jul 25 2022, 11:01 pm
I know someone who asked a Rav and he said it's not enforceable (of course don't rely on this for Halacha purposes). But I do know someone who went to a competition and now the old company is suing.

Honestly, is it worth the whole stink? Maybe it's worth it to wait it out a drop. If you'd somehow open your own business maybe there's a way you could start working on it before actually opening it?

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jul 25 2022, 11:18 pm
amother [ Wallflower ] wrote:
I know someone who asked a Rav and he said it's not enforceable (of course don't rely on this for Halacha purposes). But I do know someone who went to a competition and now the old company is suing.

Honestly, is it worth the whole stink? Maybe it's worth it to wait it out a drop. If you'd somehow open your own business maybe there's a way you could start working on it before actually opening it?

Thanks. I don’t know if I would actually start my own business, but I would definitely want to work in the same field, which I technically can’t do under the non compete that I signed.

amother
Wallflower

Post Mon, Jul 25 2022, 11:20 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote: