Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
8th grade history

amother
OP

Post Wed, Aug 03 2022, 8:43 pm
Any 8th grade history teachers on here? I'm starting the year teaching about the civil war. Any fun interactive ideas to share. It's my first time teaching history and I'm looking for ideas to keep my students interested.

amother
Copper

Post Wed, Aug 03 2022, 10:52 pm
Are you teaching secular or Jewish history?
I teach Jewish history!

When I was a student my teacher divided my class into two - north and south (literally Mason Dixon line) and you couldn't cross the room without giving the other team points, you earned points for answering correct questions, completion assignments, good grades on tests etc
The teacher told us that which ever side won the war would get one period of recess while the other side sat on the side and watched us play. (5th grade) Anyways we thought that was lame and sabotaged the points so we'd have a tie and all get recess.

BrisketBoss

Post Wed, Aug 03 2022, 11:24 pm
amother [ Copper ] wrote:
Are you teaching secular or Jewish history?
I teach Jewish history!

When I was a student my teacher divided my class into two - north and south (literally Mason Dixon line) and you couldn't cross the room without giving the other team points, you earned points for answering correct questions, completion assignments, good grades on tests etc
The teacher told us that which ever side won the war would get one period of recess while the other side sat on the side and watched us play. (5th grade) Anyways we thought that was lame and sabotaged the points so we'd have a tie and all get recess.

Nice. Good for you guys, boo on the teacher!

#BestBubby

Post Wed, Aug 03 2022, 11:46 pm
some books based during the civil war:

Gone with the Wind - but it's a story about a married woman in love with a married man.