Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Is it time to leave this job? Entry level earning more than
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 2:59 pm
I have many years of experience in my current job. I have invested in my skill set and I am a valuable worker.
I recently asked for a raise but before hearing back from my manager I found out that a new entry level hire(That I will be involved with hiring and training) is going to be earning more than me even if I get the raise I requested.
I feel really stupid.
Is it time to leave this job?
Editing to add that the new hire is probably only a few years younger than me

amother
Ghostwhite

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 3:01 pm
Yes yes yes!!!!

They apparently don't fully appreciate you for what your worth if they could do that to you...

amother
OP

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 3:02 pm
amother [ Ghostwhite ] wrote:
Yes yes yes!!!!

They apparently don't fully appreciate you for what your worth if they could do that to you...

But they value a random new hire more than me?
I am so confused. Are they just trying to be cheap?
I struggling not to take this personally after being a loyal and dedicated employee for so many years.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 3:06 pm
And now what?
Say it is really time to leave and that perhaps management is rotten in many ways. Do I just find a new job and quit? Do I explain?

amother
Ghostwhite

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 3:09 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote:
But they value a random new hire more than me?
I am so confused. Are they just trying to be cheap?
I struggling not to take this personally after being a loyal and dedicated employee for so many years.

They don't value her more, they are simply paying the going rate.

They should have came to you to offer you a raise a while ago.

mha3484

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 3:09 pm