Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Challah and Breads
Sourdough made me feel sick!

mammala120

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 7:47 pm
Is this normal. I thought this supposed to be healthy. I used to buy from store and didn’t feel any difference in terms of health. Decided to make my own. Just started with started. Looks very healthy. A little watery. Fed it. It Artie well. I used 1/4 of started from second day to make pancakes. Ate felt great. Then fatigued then headache. Now some belly fullness and slight nausea.
This only happened to me once when I ate homemade sourkraut. Or kefir.

Anyone can relate? What can be causing this and how do I feel better?

anonymrs

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 8:14 pm
I'm no expert on fermenting but here are my 2 thoughts-

1. Fermented foods are tolerated better if you take a trace mineral supplement. Don't ask me why, like I said, I'm not an expert but someone told me this and I found it true for myself.

2. This is why I only ferment with an airlock. Unless your gut is in tip top shape, the airborne pathogens end up in your food and your gut won't like it.

BadTichelDay

Post Tue, Aug 09 2022, 10:32 pm
mammala120 wrote:
Is this normal. I thought this supposed to be healthy. I used to buy from store and didn’t feel any difference in terms of health. Decided to make my own. Just started with started. Looks very healthy. A little watery. Fed it. It Artie well. I used 1/4 of started from second day to make pancakes. Ate felt great. Then fatigued then headache. Now some belly fullness and slight nausea.