Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children
Developing daughter. How do I have the talk?? Help please
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, Sep 07 2022, 8:42 am
Please don’t judge. Please. I know I should’ve done this earlier. But I feel so awkward about the whole topic and kept pushing it off. I know it’s wrong, and that’s why I’m posting here now. I need help.

So she just turned 10 and is clearly developing. The problem is we haven’t had a single conversation yet about anything. My mom was always awkward about it so now I’m awkward about it but I really want to change the cycle.

Can someone please walk me through this, step by step? Like, how do I start? Do I pull her away from her siblings and say I want to talk privately? I’ve never done anything like that before, they’ll all be clamoring to know what’s going on. Or do I just find a time that she’s alone and jump right to it? And what do I lead with? I seriously need a script, starting with DD, there’s something we need to talk about.

Can anyone write me a script?? That sounds so crazy but I’m having so much anxiety over this! I really want her to love her body and not feel awkward about it but I just don’t know how to do that.

Also what do I need to tell her now? That her body is changing, and she’ll wear a bra soon? That soon she’ll be growing hair in certain places? Do I tell her about periods?

I wasn’t ready for this yet! Please help this helpless mama!!!

amother
Crocus

Post Wed, Sep 07 2022, 8:59 am
I went to a talk about this recently..specifically for this age.

I have a 10 yo also starting to develop and I also pushed it off the whole summer.
I really wanted to do it in the middle of the holidays so by the time school starts it wont be at the forefront of her head so shel be less inclined to talk about it with friends. Oh well..
And I really really want her to find out from me and Not from others.