Home

Celiac friendly shabbat lunch menu

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Shabbos and Supper menus


View latest: 24h 48h 72h

ruby slippers




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 8:00 am
Please share your celiac friendly shabbat lunch menus. I want my guest to be comfortable with everything I serve...
I know I can make sushi salad- so that's one idea...
I know chulent with barley is a big no no...
please help with some interesting side dishes...
Back to top

teachkids




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 8:10 am
You can make chulent with rice or quinoa.
You can do a roast (just check your spices/sauces)
Salads
Rice or chumus with seasoned ground beef
Back to top

heidi




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 8:11 am
Salads
Pulled beef with bbq sauce
Rice
Potatoes
Quinoa
Roasted veggies
It's really not a big deal
Back to top

leilatov1




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 9:30 am
I used rissoto rice in cholent instead of barley. Shnizel with GF breadcrumbs. Careful soy sauce contain gluten so watch out for dressing
Back to top

BHYOMYOM1




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 9:55 am
What to watch out for as far as ingredients:

*Wheat (will also at times be listed in ingredients as ‘gluten’)

*Barley (will also be listed as ‘malt’-which is made from barley)

*Spelt

*Rye

Everything else is pretty much game.

Your main issue will be what to wash on. Are they bringing their own Hamotzi?

If not, you can get Gluten Free Hamotzi oat rolls (Katz’s or Baum’s) or Gluten Free Hamotzi oat matzah (Kestenbaum’s or Lakewood’s).

Oat is the only of the ‘five grains’ that those with Celiac can say Hamotzi on. They have to be listed as Gluten Free Oats as they are grown in their own field to avoid cross contamination.

(Just confirm that the guest is not sensitive to oats as well. A small percentage of those with celiac cant tolerate oats either. They are yotzei with two cups wine or by other means…)

PS to those with celiac disease: Yes, I know about Molino wheat flour with the gluten removed that some can tolerate etc, etc… but that discussion is not pertinent for OP)

Have a great Shabbos and enjoy!
Back to top

Spaghetti7




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 12:44 pm
BHYOMYOM1 wrote:
What to watch out for as far as ingredients:

*Wheat (will also at times be listed in ingredients as ‘gluten’)

*Barley (will also be listed as ‘malt’-which is made from barley)

*Spelt

*Rye

Everything else is pretty much game.

Your main issue will be what to wash on. Are they bringing their own Hamotzi?

If not, you can get Gluten Free Hamotzi oat rolls (Katz’s or Baum’s) or Gluten Free Hamotzi oat matzah (Kestenbaum’s or Lakewood’s).

Oat is the only of the ‘five grains’ that those with Celiac can say Hamotzi on. They have to be listed as Gluten Free Oats as they are grown in their own field to avoid cross contamination.

(Just confirm that the guest is not sensitive to oats as well. A small percentage of those with celiac cant tolerate oats either. They are yotzei with two cups wine or by other means…)

PS to those with celiac disease: Yes, I know about Molino wheat flour with the gluten removed that some can tolerate etc, etc… but that discussion is not pertinent for OP)

Have a great Shabbos and enjoy!


Watch out for soy sauce and many ready-made sauces and soup mixes aswell.
Back to top

abs




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 12:47 pm
BHYOMYOM1 wrote:
What to watch out for as far as ingredients:

*Wheat (will also at times be listed in ingredients as ‘gluten’)

*Barley (will also be listed as ‘malt’-which is made from barley)

*Spelt

*Rye

Everything else is pretty much game.

Your main issue will be what to wash on. Are they bringing their own Hamotzi?

If not, you can get Gluten Free Hamotzi oat rolls (Katz’s or Baum’s) or Gluten Free Hamotzi oat matzah (Kestenbaum’s or Lakewood’s).

Oat is the only of the ‘five grains’ that those with Celiac can say Hamotzi on. They have to be listed as Gluten Free Oats as they are grown in their own field to avoid cross contamination.

(Just confirm that the guest is not sensitive to oats as well. A small percentage of those with celiac cant tolerate oats either. They are yotzei with two cups wine or by other means…)

PS to those with celiac disease: Yes, I know about Molino wheat flour with the gluten removed that some can tolerate etc, etc… but that discussion is not pertinent for OP)

Have a great Shabbos and enjoy!


Not all Celiacs can tolerate oats. If they can, it can only be specially marked as GF
Just be aware.
Back to top

BHYOMYOM1




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 12:48 pm
abs wrote:
Not all Celiacs can tolerate oats. If they can, it can only be specially marked as GF
Just be aware.


As is clearly written in my post.
Back to top

BHYOMYOM1




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 12:49 pm
Spaghetti7 wrote:
Watch out for soy sauce and many ready-made sauces and soup mixes aswell.


As is written in my post as to what to check for in ALL products being used.


Last edited by BHYOMYOM1 on Wed, Nov 02 2022, 1:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top

Aurora




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 12:50 pm
Kasha is good. So are lots of potato things.
Back to top

abs




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 12:51 pm
BHYOMYOM1 wrote:
As is clearly written in my post.


Woops! Sorry I missed that. (I guess that's what I get for multi-tasking at work.)
Back to top

BHYOMYOM1




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 1:10 pm
abs wrote:
Woops! Sorry I missed that. (I guess that's what I get for multi-tasking at work.)


Lol. Absolutely no prob.

Yes, we know a lot about celiac here…
Back to top

aussie2




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 1:15 pm
Shabbos Day is not so hard.. I'm assuming either they are bringing their own challah (otherwise u need to make that..)
Chulent with rice works very well
grilled chicken cutlets
potato kugel
salads obv are fine.. (just no croutons etc..)
if u want specific recipe for sweet gf kugel.. I make a carrot souffle recipe from by cookbook and substitute almond flour..
I also make deli roll ups.. I buy gf pastry dough..
If doing dessert- chocolate mousse/ sorbet/ many store bought ice creams are ok.. just look at labels..
Good luck!
Back to top

juggling




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 2:05 pm
When I have GF guests I pull out pesach recipes (non-gebrochts) and they are generally well-received. The advantages for me are, I don't need to get involved with special ingredients that I don't normally buy, and I already know which recipes are successful.
Back to top

penguin




 
 
 
 

Post Wed, Nov 02 2022, 2:07 pm
Short grain brown rice makes the best substitute for barley.

If you want to patchke, make a Pesachdik kishke with mostly vegetables & potato starch.

For that matter any Pesachdik (non-gebrokts) recipe should be good e.g. brownies or mousse pie (where you bake part of the batter & pour in the rest & refrigerate or freeze, the name escapes me now : )
Back to top

cbg




 
 
 
 

Post Thu, Nov 10 2022, 4:54 am
You can make a morrocan cholent
Chickpeas potatoes meat in a paprikaish sauce
Back to top
Page 1 of 1 Recent Topics

View latest: 24h 48h 72h


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Shabbos and Supper menus

Related Topics Replies Last Post
How do I nominate sombody for the Ami-lunch break?
by amother
2 Mon, Jan 30 2023, 3:10 pm View last post
Marriott chain hotel that’s kid friendly near Edison
by amother
4 Sun, Jan 22 2023, 7:17 pm View last post
Where to order lunch delivered in Ashdod
by amother
5 Wed, Jan 18 2023, 11:46 am View last post
2 yo daily/weekly sample menu
by amother
10 Sun, Jan 15 2023, 12:10 pm View last post
Child friendly hotel
by amother
0 Wed, Jan 11 2023, 2:09 pm View last post