Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
Packing breakable things
1  2  Next

greeneyes

Post Wed, Jun 04 2008, 1:32 pm
I've never done this before, so for all of you who have moved, what's the best way to pack breakable things like china, glasses, etc?

TIA!

Rivky

Post Wed, Jun 04 2008, 1:34 pm
When I moved I wrapped my stuff in newspapers. It really helped. Plus the boxes that had the breakable stuff I made sure were handled w/ extra caution.

bubbles

Post Wed, Jun 04 2008, 1:35 pm
I wrap everything in newspaper. somethings in bubblewrap-the very fragile things. Make sure theboxes are packed tight and there is no empty spaces that also prevents things from breaking. GOOD LUCK!!

pinktichel

Post Wed, Jun 04 2008, 1:35 pm
wrapped everything in layers of newspaper. Not a thing broke, but that was for a local move.

louche

Post Wed, Jun 04 2008, 1:40 pm
Bubble wrap is the best but expensive and not environmentally good. Styrofoam pellets are good cushioning material but like bubble wrap are $$ and an environmental nightmare. Newspaper, and lots of it, both to wrap the items and fill in empty spaces in the box, is the best. After unpacking you can use the paper to wash your windows and then put it in your garden as mulch.

For dishes that you eat from, wrap first in plastic bags so that the ink doesn't get all over them., then use newspaper for cushioning.

Divided cartons like wine cartons are good for glassware.

pinktichel

Post Wed, Jun 04 2008, 1:46 pm
louche wrote:
For dishes that you eat from, wrap first in plastic bags so that the ink doesn't get all over them., then use newspaper for cushioning.

what a great tip... wish I had known this. Would have saved me a lot of time washing and drying my china (set for eighteen) and regular dishes.

justanothermother

Post Wed, Jun 04 2008, 2:06 pm