Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
Gemach service was not paid for, WWYD?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Sat, Dec 24 2022, 9:08 pm
I have a gemach of some sorts in my home. I charge a very minimal fee for what is being given and the money that these women give, I donate all proceeds to tzedaka- usually a family in need, right now im putting the money aside for a family member in e"y in kollel.

I had one lady come beg. of october. she took the thing home and said she wanted to see if it could be fixed by her tailor, lengthened etc.... Im new at this (ehem naive and young) and she told me she wanted to see if the seamstress could fix the dress before paying, so I said np. I texted her 2 weeks later if there was any update, she told me she wasnt feeling good and didnt have a chance to go to seamstress then I texted her end of october again, and she said shes not feeling good. Then I texted her Middle of november for an update and she still said no, she has to go try it on. I texted her last week "im following up regarding the dress you took. I need to receive payment before the end of the year thanks" and she didnt even answer.

1- I dont understand some people.
2- Im dumb for not making her pay up front
3- I know its a chessed, but I could really use that money for this family im raising money for!

my dh told me to let it go and its for tzedaka... but its just extremely socially off of this lady. like each time she wears this dress shes not going to think about where she got it? I understand finances are hard, she could have been up front with me and given half of what I charge.

looking for advice or maybe also just to vent...

ETA: She knows I charge since I told her before her appointment and at her appointment.

amother
Gold

Post Sat, Dec 24 2022, 9:14 pm
Honestly I would let it go. Its a nebach on her...
Possibly some kind of mental illness.

amother