Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
The "I'm stuck in a job I hate" thread

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jan 02 2023, 9:04 pm
Title says it all. I make too much money to walk away. To sum it up, I make around 130,000 dollars a year. But I have no flexibility and have minimal sick days. I start very early each day, work full full time, miss lots of time with my kids. But I'm stuck. Because any job similar pays half of what I am making and since my degree is so specialized I have minimal options to choose from. I wish I was a secretary/teacher/therapist anything where I can make my own hours!! I am so stuck, also DH is unemployed with ADHD so I can't count on him for any financial support.

amother
Wandflower

Post Mon, Jan 02 2023, 9:06 pm
Same here. Although I don't make as much as you. I say I'm in "golden handcuffs". My job is too good to leave but the hours are really hard, as is not having off when my kids do. Sigh. No job is perfect.

amother
Bellflower

Post Mon, Jan 02 2023, 9:14 pm
I have the opposite issue.

I have a flexible job because I own my own business, and because of that I find that I barely have time to work. It is extremely overwhelming and difficult to have a huge workload with no time to work because of limited hours (childcare etc falls on me because DH works a regular full time job).

I earn over 3x as much as DH which is why I'm still doing what I'm doing, but it's really, really stressful.

I used to love what I do, but it came to a point where I just want to quit - I'm stuck with golden handcuffs like wandflower said.

amother
Wandflower

Post Mon, Jan 02 2023, 9:16 pm
amother Bellflower wrote: