Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
Spelt Sourdough troubleshooting

amother
OP

Post Sun, Jan 08 2023, 5:42 pm
I’ve been making spelt sourdough for about 9 months now. I used to just bake them uncovered in a Pyrex pie dish and they always rose beautifully. The shape wasn’t gorgeous though, and it browned unevenly, and cracked in weird ways and was kind of dryish and dried out easily once cut so I finally invested in a cast iron Dutch oven on Black Friday. Ever since my loaves are coming out much flatter. I preheat the oven along with the Dutch oven for a very long time, like 45 minutes after it says it reached 500 degrees. My recipe is
500 grams white spelt flour
100 grams refreshed starter
12 grams salt
340-360 grams warm water (I’ve experimented with more and less moisture to see if that would help with rising, it hasn’t made a difference).

Anyone has any insight on why this would be happening ?

mha3484

Post Sun, Jan 08 2023, 6:29 pm
I baked with spelt for years. I could never get the same hight as with wheat flour. I think it has to do with how the gluten develops.

amother
IndianRed

Post Sun, Jan 08 2023, 6:59 pm
I do only 300 grams of water. What helped me was the way I prepared it. I mix the dough roughly wait 10 min. Smack it a few times for it to mix better. Wait half hour laminate wait an hour and laminate. Leave outside for about 6 hours. Then I shape and put into fridge overnight.

amother
OP

Post Sun, Jan 08 2023, 7:01 pm
mha3484 wrote:
I baked with spelt for years. I could never get the same hight as with wheat flour. I think it has to do with how the gluten develops.