Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Computers, Phones and Devices
What device for DD interested in illustration?

amother
OP

Post Mon, Mar 27 2023, 12:49 am
I'm looking to not spend too much but she does seem to have a genuine interest and talent and I'd like to support it on some level... she is 12 years old and currently self-taught using pencils and markers. She's been asking for a good drawing app but all I have is a very very old iPad that doesn't support anything current.

Interested in a standalone tablet she can use with a stylus and digital illustration app (procreate?) But I was also already looking for an inexpensive Chromebook or laptop for the kids to use to type school reports and the like (they now borrow mine but I don't like the competition for timing and I also want a stronger filter for them) so if it works better to get a drawing device that connects to a separate computer I'm open to that. But I don't want to spend a ton on a powerful graphics computer when I was currently looking at budget chromebooks...

Not sure where to go with this that won't break the bank but also won't lead to a frustrating user experience but rather something dd can learn well on.

Any input or advice is appreciated. I know a tiny bit about this stuff from basic googling (like the fact that there are drawing tablets that work with a computer, that a popular app is called procreate, that a cheap chromebook might not support graphic software) but I know none of the specific details and I don't have time or brainpower for real research.

professor

Post Mon, Mar 27 2023, 7:54 am
https://estore.wacom.com/en-US.....D_BwE

My dd has this. There's also an illustration course on zoom Berlingerart Academy an Israeli teacher who gives lessons on how to illustrate using technology