Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Would you or someone you know pay for this service?

amother
OP

Post Fri, May 12 2023, 4:10 pm
I have been thinking of starting a service to provide technology tutoring/aid, for those who are elderly/behind the times or who want to gain a missing skill.

My question is if people would pay enough to make it worthwhile. Most people have a relative who can teach these things, is this worth trying to do?

I am a computer professional, I do know a bit more than the average millennial. I would offer to help in any way people need, one on one in client homes or in groups in my home.

I would cover topics like:

What is wifi? Do I need it? How can I get it, how strong do I need, what's the best deal I can get, where should I have it set up, do I need an extender?

Do I need a computer or another type of device, and what model do I need? How about printers, or other external devices?

Do I need to buy any programs or can I use free ones? How do I install programs? How do I make accounts? Use Zoom to talk with the grandkids? How do I use these programs?

Internet shopping basics, getting good prices, avoiding getting scammed, avoiding viruses, setting up filters, shortcuts.

mha3484

Post Fri, May 12 2023, 4:12 pm
My grandmother did this for years. She had someone who came to her house and taught her to use the computer her iphone etc. She wanted to keep up with technology and was able to afford it. She was very savy for her age.

newinbp

Post Fri, May 12 2023, 4:13 pm
Depends where, many public libraries offer this service for free as well as Jewish community centers. So if your area doesn't offer it for free already, I'd say go for it!

amother
OP

Post Fri, May 12 2023, 4:14 pm
newinbp wrote: