Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Guests
S/o messy house - should I not have any guests?
  1  2  3  4  5  6  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, May 21 2023, 3:50 am
My house is messy. Full stop. I'm not good at cleaning, my kids help but can only do so much, I don't have cleaning help. (can't afford and not good at delegating)

The house is not atrocious I don't think but it's definitely not spotless or shining. There are cobwebs and dust and yes even dirt depending where you look. There is clutter and stuff lying around and some things are broken. It's an old house and the owners don't maintain it well so even when a room is clean it doesn't look great.

Would you invite guests? I used to a lot, but second guessing myself. Should I not?

amother
Nasturtium

Post Sun, May 21 2023, 4:08 am
That depends.
Of course people shouldn't be rude and comment disparagingly on other people's homes. ( I'm assuming this comes on the tails of the recent thread about young girls commenting on the state of the bathroom) But let's face it, people including children are judgemental and as we need to be aware that the way we present ourselves, keep our homes an all other externals are going to be judged and reacted to, rightly or wrongly. Obviously there are levels of cleanliness and hygiene, but I would say that if you are even somewhat embarrassed about the state of your home, it's time for you get some tools to get on top of things .
If you are not embarrassed, there isn't really a problem, is there?....but when kids get older there might be ....

amother
Snow

Post Sun, May 21 2023, 4:11 am
I would rather not be your guest.

If I was hosted by someone untidy and unhygienic (it goes together many times) then I would put a smile on my face but then excuse myself from any future invites if I get any.