Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Shabbos, Rosh Chodesh, Fast Days, and other Days of Note
Glass cup with lit neir(onim) inside suddenly shattered!

amother
OP

Post Sat, May 27 2023, 9:53 pm
I was in bed, but not yet sleeping last night when I heard the tinkling sound of breaking glass. I checked the lecht and saw that one of the glasses had broken with such force that even though it was in the back of a high shelf, the broken glass managed to come forward and land on the floor! The base of the glass cup still remained and the candle was still lit! Hodu l'hashem that nothing worse happened but now I'm scared of what could have been. I've been using glass cups with neironim + a bit of oil for more than 15 years. These cups were purchased for pesach (every year I buy new ones for pesach since I was them in my chometz dishwasher).

Any ideas what could have caused that??

Kumphort

Post Sat, May 27 2023, 10:01 pm
Was the wick straight up? Or was it possible the wick was leaning on the glass. We’ve had it happen before

amother
Purple

Post Sat, May 27 2023, 10:02 pm
I cannot believe I saw this tonight!!!! The same thing happened to us last night. We had gone up at 12:30 from our meal and this morning, the glass was shattered. (There had been a small flame still lit.). This is terrible! The company must be reached out to. Also purchased for pesach.

amother
Winterberry

Post Sat, May 27 2023, 10:06 pm
This happened to me last year. I was told it’s because If you don’t pop out the grey piece left from the previous nights candle then the whole thing tilts and the wick touches the glass and makesIt too hot. So we designate a spoon and use the end of it to pry out the grey thing before putting in the second nights candle. Hope that makes sense !

amother
Hawthorn

Post Sat, May 27 2023, 10:16 pm