Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children
Husband-Kid dynamic

amother
OP

Post Wed, May 31 2023, 7:50 am
My husband really tries to be a good father, but didn't grow up in a large family. We have 6 kids B"H. My kids are generally good, but they have their personality quirks. I am involved in child development by profession so getting along with kids comes naturally to me. My husband takes more of a "if you want my attention, you need to come to me" approach. He has a low tolerance for "silly" and the mishagasim of pre-adolescents. He gets a little bit stuck in "this is how kids SHOULD behave" and "this is how a house "SHOULD" look. I tell him that if he wants things done, he needs to TALK to our kids and give them instructions. My kids would rather be on their tablets/computers. They have learned to tune him out and he has learned to let them ignore him. He doesn't communicate effectively and he often tells them "Well, they'll learn the consequences". He would rather a blanket "lose tablet time" and I don't think that's an effective strategy. I've told him that he needs to tell them and give them instructions and his response is "well they just ignore me", and the kids tell me "Mommy why can't you buy "x,y,z for school?" and I tell them "talk to Abba, he buys the school snacks", If I buy it then he complains that I'm essentially "too soft" with them or I shop too frivolously. Thus, they've learned that Abba is "Mr. No" and they avoid him, but he doesn't feel like extending the olive branch. How do we fix this? I don't know of any family therapists in our area.

rowena

Post Thu, Jun 01 2023, 8:19 am