Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Business owner mom

Do you think a women can run a business & be a good mom & wife at the same time?
sure  
 20%  [ 21 ]
depends on the women  
 59%  [ 60 ]
no way  
 19%  [ 20 ]
Total Votes : 101

TG

Post Wed, Jul 09 2008, 4:54 pm
I am a business owner & a mom boruch hashem...
many times have a fight inside myself because of this. Confused
I work alone in my business, & always hope it grows & expands. but on the other hand I am scared to have too much work & not be able to be a good wife & mom to my family. as of now b"h I have only 1 little 2 year old girl, so I'ts not too bad.
I love my job, it's creative & that's what I am & love.
I have a good feeling from every item I create, as specially when a customer calls to tell me how happy they are with my creations. Smile
But many times, usually in very busy seasons with the business I wish I wouldn't have the business, so I can be a better mom. Confused Confused Confused
Do any of you have this dilema too?
Any advice?

shalhevet

Post Wed, Jul 09 2008, 6:01 pm
I used to teach, so I love having the flexibility of owning my own business.

The part I hate though is the unpredictability. I can get up in the morning and have no work, but I can't really plan my morning because at any moment the phone can ring or I can get an email offering me work. On the other hand there are afternoons when my kids are home and I have to tell them not to disturb me because I have urgent work to finish.

The great part is the flexibility when it's important. For example, if I have an appointment or something I just know only to accept work taking into account that I won't have that time. Or before Pesach I just said no to some projects.

amother

Post Wed, Jul 09 2008, 6:21 pm
I am posting as amother because I don't want to be recognized and by reading my explanation you will understand why.