Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Simcha Section
Your perfect upsherin menu
1  2  Next

ClaRivka

Post Sun, Sep 07 2008, 10:56 pm
What would it be???

I just got a job catering an upsherin and im kinda clueless. Its my first time doing an upsherin, and while I do have ideas, I'm not sure if its going to be enough.

The mother is already bringing in sandwiches and wraps and candy.
I am in charge of fruit and cookies/cakes/etc.

I was thinking that I could make a fruit basket out of watermelon and fill with fruits and I could also get a nice wicker basket and put a piece of foam in and cover it with grape leaves and have a million fruit kebabs popping out of the foam.

I decided to make cupcakes with a round cookie on top that looks like a kipah with the boys name on it.
Also, tzitzis cookies.

Any other ideas of what a mother would want?

ClaRivka

Post Mon, Sep 08 2008, 10:36 am
bump

mandksima

Post Mon, Sep 08 2008, 10:40 am
I made a tzitit cake once that was cute. Make it in a 9x13 or any rectangle size and then cut out the neck (semicircle) in the middle of one end side and then frost white and attach tzitit (I used licorice) to the opposite side ends. I wrote Mazal Tov on the top.

Maybe Alef Bet cookies?

OldYoung

Post Mon, Sep 08 2008, 12:17 pm
The cupcakes sound adorable!

For fruit, if you don't want to have a bunch of kabobs, you can just cut up different colors and put each color in a different huge goblet. It's simple, but looks beautiful. If you want to get really fancy, you can get alef bais cookie cutters and cut out the fruit with those. (Cut into medium thin layers, and cut like you would cookie dough. If the fruit is firm, it should hold. Melon would probably work the best.)