Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
New Job

amother

Post Tue, Jan 03 2006, 6:49 am
I'm currently working a job that is not working out for me. I am very uphappy in it! But I have no idea what to look for to switch jobs. I would prefer a job with decent pay (wouldn't we all) and health insurance benefits. I don't have much training but I'm a very fast learner. I prefer not to be a secretary. Any ideas?

Ambassador-to-KJ

Post Tue, Jan 03 2006, 7:17 am
Quote:
I don't have much training but I'm a very fast learner. I prefer not to be a secretary. Any ideas?

Do you have anything on your own that you can use maybe to work for yourself. ie. I'm a stay at home mom. I work around the kids doing photography, graphic design (Both of which Im self taught) and from time to time sell on eBay. What I do does not bring in a steady paycheck (I cant predict what I make some months asre slow others I can make a ton of money) but over the year I do make more than some people I know who work in full time jobs. Of course that wont work for you if you need to know whats coming in every week or two because your income is needed to support the family.
I worked in a couple of secretarial jobs before I was married. In general I don't think there is a lot of job growth in that although I did once work as a secretary for someone and ended up being their office manager, so you never know. I'm not sure about what other fields you can go into and make a good salary because I wasnt out there for too long. I do think (correct me if I'm wrong) that there are some sales jobs that offer a good starting salary and then you get commission on top of that.