Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions
Im a special ed preschool teacher, ask me anything!
1  2  3  Next

amother

Post Tue, Dec 31 2013, 8:20 pm
wanted to offer if anyone had questions about my profession or concerns about your child, I would do my best to answer.

manhattanmom

Post Tue, Dec 31 2013, 8:25 pm
and yet you're being anonymous...so nobody could PM you.
What population are you teaching and where? (I know you said special ed, but it really does vary...) How long have you been teaching there? And what is your educational background? Do you do evaluations? Parents want to know that before they just ask.
I'm teaching in a special needs preschool now--in Brooklyn for children with multiple and low incidence disabilities.

amother

Post Tue, Dec 31 2013, 8:32 pm
I understand. I should have been more specific. I prefer not to give away personal details or my screen name. I teach in a school for children with developemental delays and have experience with with varying levels of delays. I do not profess to be an expert in all areas, and I obviously am not offering information in a professional or formal setting at all. id be happy to answer general questions. I know ive beeen asked irl about how people in my position veiw parents, and and how we deal with the emotional impact this job has. that is more what I had in mind.

amother

Post Tue, Dec 31 2013, 8:40 pm
How can I know whether my child is normal?

manhattanmom

Post Tue, Dec 31 2013, 8:41 pm
amother wrote: