Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
When to make chulent?
1  2  Next

baba

Post Tue, Nov 30 2010, 10:04 am
If you work on Thursdays and Fridays, when do you make chulent?

I'm a newbie at this, both working wintertime and chulent. When do you make it? Is it ok to put it in the crockpot Thursday evening? And then it's on all shabbes as well? I have a sensitive stomach and am very scared of it going bad and me getting sick (which already happened last week when I tried to make chulent, on a Friday morning, I dont know what I did wrong).

So, what do you do?

OOTBubby

Post Tue, Nov 30 2010, 10:20 am
Assemble everything in the crockpot on Thursday evening. Refrigerate it until Friday morning. Before you leave put it in the crockpot set on high (may vary depending on your crockpot). Around an hour before Shabbos (in the winter) turn it to low. I always cook it all day Friday even if I am home and could put it up later.

chaya35

Post Tue, Nov 30 2010, 10:22 am
I always put mine up Thursday night in the crockpot and lower it Friday afternoon.

anonymrs

Post Tue, Nov 30 2010, 10:30 am
chaya35 wrote:
I always put mine up Thursday night in the crockpot and lower it Friday afternoon.

What company is your crockpot?

Amital

Post Tue, Nov 30 2010, 10:37 am
I often do Friday afternoon, but if I'm not home, I do the ingredients into the pot on Thursday night and then just put it right on Friday afternoon on low.

chaya35

Post Tue, Nov 30 2010, 10:39 am
anonymrs wrote:
chaya35 wrote:

west bend

Barbara

Post Tue, Nov 30 2010, 10:43 am
With the caveat that I rarely make cholent ...